Posted by: Korry | November 24, 2011

A Truly Thankful Thanksgiving

Today is Thanksgiving. Wherever you are today, I wish you safe travels and hope you are able to spend the day with the people in your life that mean the most to you.

My family will be enjoying a nice visit with my sister and brother-in-law. My wife’s family will be having their own celebration. And I’ll be working, because in the airlines, the world never stops traveling–even on holidays. Getting holidays off as a pilot tends to take years of seniority, especially for the big holidays. I’m just thankful that this year, unlike the past several years, I will be in the United States for Thanksgiving… it’s pretty lame when you’re in a foreign country during a U.S.-only holiday since for that country it’s just another day.

I’m particularly excited this year because Jen (my wife) is using her non-rev travel benefits to come join me in Seattle where I have a long overnight! It will be our first Thanksgiving together as a married couple, and we have lots to be thankful for. As I mentioned last week, this past Sunday was our first wedding anniversary. I’m so thankful to know that I have a partner to travel through life with now. I’m thankful for her smile and the way she makes me laugh. I’m thankful for how she supports me during tough times and how she leans on me when it’s tough for her. Most of all, I’m so thankful she love me for me, unconditionally and without end.

We’ve faced a lot this year. Two days after returning from our honeymoon, I went off to six long weeks of flight training to change planes from the Boeing 757/767 to the  737 while Jen was at home adjusting to a new town and starting a new job search in a tough job market. Then we got the crazy idea (ok, it was mostly my idea) to get a dog, Molly, from a rescue shelter. While we love our “doghter” to pieces, she was [and unfortunately still is] a sick puppy. Jen faced the initial transition with Molly mostly by herself, during the thick of winter, and I know she would say that at times it was overwhelming. Lesson learned for me.

Then, of course, we’ve faced the challenges such as learning to communicate as a couple and navigating the transition from being two individuals to being one family. We’ve had the central air conditioning in our home fail, cars needing maintenance, a major section of a massive tree fall down, family issues and concerns, and a host of other things through this year. (When I think about all these things, I can’t help but think of the song by Darryl Worley, Sounds Like Life To Me)

Were they really the biggest challenges to overcome? Probably not. I’m sure many of you may have some crazy stories about the first year of marriage. But it was still a lot for us. Through it all, we managed to keep our wings level and keep climbing. I took comfort knowing that smooth air always follows turbulent skies. Now, we both say we’re better prepared to handle the other challenges God sends our way throughout our life. We’re flying through life as a crew, not as individuals. And that is turning out to be more rewarding than I ever could have imagined.

So on this Thanksgiving day, I want to say thank you to my wonderful wife, Jen. I want to say thank you to the incredibly supportive and loving family and friends we are both so blessed to have. And I hope that you will somehow see my true gratitude through my actions, as President Kennedy so eloquently advised us to do.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Feel free to share it using one of the buttons below.

Leave a Reply

Categories

