Posted by: Korry | November 30, 2011

QOTW: Risks and Reflections

“There came a time when the risk to remain tight in the bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

Anais Nin

As the end of 2011 draws near and we all start to think about what our New Year’s resolutions will be for 2012, I think about the quote above that I heard years ago. I reflect on the times during this past year when I might have chosen the safety of the bud versus the risk that it took to blossom.

I wonder if there were times when I might have missed out on opportunities to learn or grow because I felt unsure of the challenge or the risk. I spend time thinking about what the challenge of risk might have meant for me in the long term. Were they really that daunting or was I just too nervous to step out into the unknown? I tend to be a person who likes to plan and the proverbial leap of faith often makes planning difficult.

So, when this time of year comes around and I think back on the large and the small decisions and choices that I have made during the past 11 months, I make a promise to myself that I will work to recognize when the decision to stay the same is more painful than the choice to change and grow. I will make this promise again this year, but I am adding the additional layer of publicly making the statement to all of you. In the next few weeks, I will begin to focus on my 2012 resolutions with the intention of calculating my risks and finding ways to learn and grow.

How about you? Have there been times over the past year when you chose to remain in the bud because of the risk that it would take to blossom? Looking back now, were there times when your risk to remain the same ended up being more painful than the risk that it would have taken to make the choice, make the leap?

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Feel free to share it using one of the buttons below.

Leave a Reply

Categories

