Posted by: Korry | December 19, 2011

Your 2012 Flight Plan

The holiday season is definitely here. Malls are packed, families are traveling and the many end-of-year odds-and-ends are quickly filling our time. If you’re anything like me, one of my annual rituals around this time is coming up with one or more really good New Year’s Resolutions. If you’re also like me, those New Year’s Resolutions turn into being more like “January Resolutions” because I am notoriously pathetic at following through.

This time around, I am committed to being successful with my New Year’s Resolutions–my 2012 Flight Plan For Life–and I challenge you to do the same! Today, I’m going to provide an overview of what I believe is a useful framework to ensure that the big aspects of your life are covered in your goals, and on Thursday, I’ll provide some suggestions for how I think you can design your goals/resolutions so they stick all year long and provide real results in your life. After the New Year, I’ll share my resolutions with you, and I’d love for you to share some of your goals with me and Life Flight Plan’s readers if you’re so inclined.

The first step for successful goal setting is to create a useful framework, and to do so, I’m going to modify a framework I learned about in high school at a Young Life meeting talking about relationships. The group leader said that good relationships had four parts just as a good chair has four legs. Without any one of the legs, the chair (and the relationship) just won’t work.

I think this is a great way to look at New Year’s Resolutions. For them to be successful, they have to address the four main pillars of our life. While these pillars may be different for you, I have chosen Personal, Professional, Social and Spiritual to be my four main pillars. I want to thus create goals that address each of these four pillars in order to help me to lead a successful and balanced life.

Personal: Among other things, Personal goals could address things such as relationship goals, health goals, fitness goals, financial goals, etc.

Professional: On December 31 of 2012, where do you hope to be professionally? These goals could focus on a desired promotion you’d like to earn and could also include more specific day-to-day goals that deal with time management, ability to work in a team, etc.

Social: Goals in this category deal with friends, colleagues, vacations, etc.

Spiritual: Are you hoping to give to a church or charity in either time or money? Are you giving back for the gifts you’ve received? I’m a firm believer in that by giving back we also gain, but I know I need to set some more structured goals for myself in this category.

I think these are four great pillars to build a solid and balanced life around. Don’t think they fit your life well enough? That’s fine…change them to be whatever broad categories you want.

Here’s your homework assignment between now and Thursday: determine your broad categories–your life pillars–and then brainstorm all the various aspects of your life that fall under each one. Try and come up with, say, 10 items under each category. Then slowly widdle the list down until you have three or maybe four items under each list. These don’t need to be specific goals, just the areas you want to set goals.

On Thursday, I’ll discuss the keys to setting great goals that will push you enough to keep you in the learning zone and eager to stick with the resolutions the entire year.

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Feel free to share it using one of the buttons below.

Responses

  1. […] if you did your homework like I suggested on Monday, you’ve determined your four life pillars and have created 3 or 4 areas of your life that you […]

  2. […] your goals and resolutions? If not, don’t worry. There’s still time. Be sure to read Your 2012 Flight Plan and Goal Setting for 2012 for my suggestions on how to make resolutions and goals that lead to a […]

  3. […] weeks ago, I wrote about the importance of having a 2012 Flight Plan and I gave some suggestions on Goal Setting for 2012 so that your New Year’s Resolutions […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

