Posted by: Korry | December 22, 2011

Goal Setting for 2012

Earlier this week, I threw down the gauntlet for myself (and hopefully for you, too)! For next year, I say no more January Resolutions! In 2012, I want true New Year’s Resolutions that help to guide my life for the entire year. I want big goals that inspire me but that aren’t so big that I give up on them. I want goals that will help me focus on the four main pillars of my life (Personal, Professional, Social and Spiritual) so that my life stays in balance.

Well if you did your homework like I suggested on Monday, you’ve determined your four life pillars and have created 3 or 4 areas of your life that you want to set goals under each life pillar. Now, you’re ready to take the next step in actually designing your New Year’s Resolutions so that they’re sticky, attainable and accountable. Here’s how you do it.

My favorite saying from business school is “What gets measured gets done, and what gets rewarded gets replicated.” My main suggestion is that you let this saying guide your goal setting for the New Year.

I see goal setting as having five main parts:

1. Think with the end in mind. Imagine where you want to be at the end of 2012 for each goal and then get really specific about what that means. If goals aren’t specific, they’re hard to quantify or measure.

2. Identify what determines success for your goal. In other words, you need to answer the question how will you know when you’ve met your goal? This must be a key metric that is objectively measurable. This is probably the most important of all the steps.

3. Set waypoints to track your progress. A year is a long time so sub-goals are a must! If you’re ambitious, set monthly sub-goals based on your key metric. At a minimum, you need quarterly sub-goals (March 31, June 30, September 30) so that you can determine if you’re ahead, behind or right on schedule.

4. Create a reward for your success. You need a light at the end of the tunnel. You’re setting big goals that are literally life changing, so reward yourself for your hard work. The key is to make this reward, however big or small, dependent upon meeting your goal’s success metric. I recommend both a big reward for achieving the main goal and also smaller goals for meeting quarterly or monthly targets.

5. Publish your goals (and your results) where you will see them every day. Whatever your goals, you need to be held accountable. Maybe that’s being held accountable by a significant other, maybe it’s your friends or maybe just yourself. If you don’t publish your goals, however, life will take over and soon your New Year’s Resolution will have become just another January Resolution…and you’ll be promising yourself that next year will be different (it won’t). Tell other people about your goals. Create a chart or spreadsheet to track your progress and publish your results. Look at this every single day. Keep the goal sticky. Keep the reward at the front of your mind. And most of all, celebrate your successes!

I can’t guarantee you will meet every goal you set, but I can guarantee that if you set four big life pillars, identify specific goals within each pillar, create metrics to track your success, outline rewards to incentivize your hard work and publish both the goals and your progress towards attaining them, you will achieve far more than you ever have before with previous New Year’s Resolutions.

Good luck with your goal setting. Email me at lifesflightplan@gmail.com to let me know what you determine for yourself. I’ll publish my goals in my first post after the New Year, and I’ll be hoping you will keep me accountable throughout the year.

Until then, I wish you a very Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Happy New Year! I’m taking next week off from blogging, but I’ll be back on January 2.

Responses

  1. […] If not, don’t worry. There’s still time. Be sure to read Your 2012 Flight Plan and Goal Setting for 2012 for my suggestions on how to make resolutions and goals that lead to a balanced life and stick all […]

  2. […] ago, I wrote about the importance of having a 2012 Flight Plan and I gave some suggestions on Goal Setting for 2012 so that your New Year’s Resolutions stick all year long. Today, I’m revealing my own […]

  3. […] thinking about the past and start working on your new ending? Have you set specific and attainable goals for 2012 to help you on that journey? It’s the new year. It’s time for dreaming big. It’s […]

  4. […] working in teams then becomes managing the team and knowing your role in the team. What’s the goal? What are the metrics? What are the waypoints the team must pass to stay on course towards meeting […]

  5. […] varies greatly, they all have one thing in common: they set the tone. They dreamed big, set huge stretch goals, and truly led from the front. Their energy and enthusiasm caught fire with the people they led and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

