Posted by: Korry | January 2, 2012

My New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year!!! 2012 is finally here!!!

As I woke up on January 1, the sky was blue, the sun was shining and I couldn’t help but think of how much opportunity there is in the year that lies ahead for all of us. Now, the trick is turning that opportunity into real results, which requires New Year’s Resolutions.

Two weeks ago, I wrote about the importance of having a 2012 Flight Plan and I gave some suggestions on Goal Setting for 2012 so that your New Year’s Resolutions stick all year long. Today, I’m revealing my own New Year’s Resolutions.

As I suggested for you, I set goals in four broad areas of my life: Personal, Professional, Social and Spiritual. Within these areas, I brainstormed many goals and whittled them down to just three in each category. Then, I determined the metrics I would use to gauge my success, charted waypoints throughout the year to keep myself accountable, and set incentives–both carrots and sticks–to keep me motivated. I even linked some of my goals to serve as rewards for achieving other goals.

Personal

My three personal goals are: read more, make health and fitness a priority, and establish short and long-term plans for financial security. For reading, I set a sub-goal of reading 12 books in 2012, or one per month. If I fall behind, I’ll eliminate two nights per week of TV until I’m caught up. My reward is a trip to the movie theatre for every three books I read. For health and fitness, I’ve set sub-goals of running two marathons (I ran Chicago several years ago), strictly adhering to the marathon training programs (or exercising 4 days per week, 30 minutes minimum until the programs start), and cutting out fried, salty and buttery foods except for my one cheat day (a.ka. reward day each week). The real rewards will be improved health and fitness, but I’ve also linked one of my social goals, traveling to states I haven’t yet visited, as a reward for finishing the marathons. Lastly, I’ve always planned financially, but this year I’m setting up savings goals for building a solid emergency fund, vacation fund, and a gift fund. I’ll be using ING-Direct accounts as these seem to be very easy to use.

Professional

My three professional goals are: seek leadership opportunities within my airline, increase readership of Life’s Flight Plan, and create a marketable seminar based on principles from this blog. As metrics and waypoints for my success, I’ve challenged myself to apply for at least one leadership opportunity per quarter, increase page views of LFP by a minimum of 10% per month (I may need your help with this one!!), and to create a seminar program during the first quarter of 2012 and then to conduct at least one seminar in Quarters 2, 3 and 4. The big reward I’ve set for myself is a dinner out at my favorite restaurant in town, Emeril’s Chop House.

Social

My three social goals are: travel to new states and countries, perform jazz piano professionally, and send more birthday and anniversary cards to close friends and family. For travel, I’ve set waypoints of visiting two states I haven’t visited, two states my wife has yet to visit, and one country that I haven’t visited. The states are quarterly goals and the country is a yearly goal. Additionally, I’ve tied these back to other goals by listing them as rewards for achieving goals such as the marathons. For jazz piano, I will seek out opportunities to perform at least once per quarter. And for the greeting cards, my wife, Jen, and I are working to create a calendar and system that we can use to plan out when to send cards. Our friends and family mean so much to us that sending greeting cards for important events is the very least we can do.

Spiritual

My three main spiritual goals are: attend church more regularly, volunteer more of my time, and raise or donate 10% of my 2011 W2 earnings to the church or other charity. My metrics for success are the number of times I attend church (waypoints of once every three weeks due to my travel schedule), number of times I volunteer (waypoints of one church event per quarter and weekly time spent with my “little brother”), and the dollars donated or raised (with a graduated schedule that includes monthly personal contributions and larger charitable goals for the marathons). Rewards are linked to travel goals and my penalties are decreases in my monthly entertainment budget.

Summary

I could provide a lot more detail to all of these goals, but I doubt you really want to read a 2500 word post…so I tried to keep it brief. I used Microsoft Excel to set up a very simple chart that outlines my goals, the metrics, the waypoints and the various incentives for achieving the goals. Additionally, I’ve set up a second chart in Excel that will allow me to “check off” my monthly/quarterly progress throughout the year. Both of these documents will be posted in a prominent area of our house so that I see the list of goals and the progress I’m making. This is a really important step because in order to keep the goals “sticky”, you have to see them on a regular basis.

I’m excited about 2012, and I’m guessing that at least part of that excitement is due to the fact that I have a formal flight plan for my life this year. I’ve set goals in broad areas of my life to keep me balanced. I’ve created specific metrics to measure my success. I’ve set waypoints to track my progress. And I’ve designed incentives to keep me motivated all year long.

What about you? Would you mind sharing some of your goals with the rest of us? If so, leave a comment with your goals/metrics/etc. and let us know if you think this process will help your 2012 resolutions last all year long.

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Feel free to share it using one of the buttons below.

Responses

  1. […] this year, I laid out my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions, one of which was to create a seminar based on the principles in this blog. I wanted to find […]

  2. […] this year, I laid out my New Year’s Resolutions which included growing the readership of this blog as well as coming up with an additional seminar […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

