Posted by: Korry | January 11, 2012

QOTW: Teamwork

Teamwork is the ability to work together toward a common vision. The ability to direct individual accomplishments toward organizational objectives. It is the fuel that allows common people to attain uncommon results.

-Andrew Carnegie

This week I’m taking a look at teamwork, particularly from within the cockpit. While I realize there are lots of quotes about teamwork, I really like this one because it seems to sum up the goal of teamwork quite nicely. If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you should know by now that I like really big goals–stretch goals that push us past our comfort zones and into our learning zones. Real fulfillment in life comes by attaining the impossible, and rarely can that happen on our own. 

In my world of aviation, my team doesn’t just include the Captain and First Officer, it includes the flight attendants, the gate agents, the company dispatchers, mechanics, air traffic controllers, and even passengers like you! To make us greater than 99.999% successful, we have to work towards a common vision and work together to achieve our objectives. And while we all have a specific role to play, none are more important than the team leader. On the flight deck, that clearly means the captain. Tomorrow, I’ll talk about what makes a really great Captain. I hope you’ll stop by and let me know what traits make your leaders at work or in life truly successful, too.

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Feel free to share it using one of the buttons below.

Responses

  1. […] so I know that I said yesterday that today’s post would be about what makes a great captain (or a great leader). […]

  2. […] so I know that I said yesterday that today’s post would be about what makes a great captain (or a great leader). […]

  3. […] we have more energy and more stamina to confront challenges. When we have spouses who are our teammates in life, we are stronger together than on our […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

