Posted by: Korry | January 30, 2012

Sharing Your Passion

Last week, I had the opportunity to speak to a group of people outside of Philadelphia about what it’s like to be an airline pilot. Most of you who know me personally know that I have always been one to enjoy public speaking and Toastmasters (yes, I realize there’s something wrong with me). In this particular instance, it had been a while since I’d last had the opportunity to share my passion in person with a group.

For twenty minutes, I spoke about what it’s like to be a kid who never gave up playing with toys–they just keep getting bigger and more expensive! I spoke about the ability to see the world on someone else’s dime. I spoke about typical trips and what a year in the life of an airline pilot looks like (check back Thursday for a look back at my 2011. It’s an impressive journey you won’t want to miss). I was energized, the audience was engaged and it made me remember how valuable it can be to share your passions with others.

Day-to-day, it can be easy to forget how fortunate we all are. We take things for granted, especially those things that we get to experience on a regular basis. I find this particularly easy to do in the airline world. For instance, my company is undergoing incredible change and we are deep into negotiations for a new pilot contract. All of that can lead to increased negativity, which can be difficult at times to leave at work.

But then I get the chance to share my passion with a group of people outside my business and I am quickly reminded at just how fortunate I am. I look at the map I’ve created to show my travels over the past year (which I’ll post here on Thursday) and I’m amazed at how many places I’ve visited in just one year. In 2011, I enjoyed fresh fish in Anchorage and a relaxing evening spent reading from my Cabo San Lucas hotel balcony overlooking the deep blue Pacific ocean. I ate breakfast at Mimi’s in San Francisco and tried Voodoo Donuts in Portland, Oregon. I rolled dice in Las Vegas, caught up with a great friend in Orange County, California, and walked for hours upon hours around Chicago on a simply perfect spring afternoon. Who can’t get excited about that?

Sure, it hasn’t all been great. I mean, I’m not a big fan of red-eye flights through the middle of the night yet I did more of them last year than I would have preferred. And since the nature of the job is travel, I spend so many nights in hotels that I often forget where I’ve been. That wasn’t always a negative, but now that I’m married, I like being home with my wife. And lets not forget to include the wonderfully enjoyable bout with Montezuma’s Revenge I picked up from a local cafe in Mexico City.

No job is perfect. There are plusses and minuses no matter what we do. The trick, in my opinion, is to tap back into the feeling and drive that originally made you want to do what you do today. For me, one of the easiest ways to do that is to share my passion with anyone who will listen. That happens when I get to speak to a group like I did last week. It happens when I’m able to give the gift of aviation like I did with Jen’s mother and sister last fall. And it happens every time I check the views for Life’s Flight Plan. I’m so thankful to each of you for stopping by and I hope you find value in my musings on life.

So how are you going to share your passion with the world? How are you going to focus on the opportunities and benefits in your life, not just the negatives? I promise you that if you find a way to share your passion you will feel better and more energized than you have in a long, long time.

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Feel free to share it using one of the buttons below.

Responses

  1. […] airline pilot, I definitely rack up the miles! As part of the presentation I mentioned briefly on Monday, I put together a few PowerPoint slides that graphically show just how many places I do visit in a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

