Posted by: Korry | May 3, 2012

Changing Course

Over the past few months, I’ve written numerous posts about the journey of life and how it often takes you places you don’t always expect. I’ve written about how sometimes we need to take a leap of faith in life and be a little crazy. We have to think about what it is we really want in our lives and then we have to go after that dream with all the vigor we can muster.

Until now, you may have read these posts and thought that I was just spouting off at the mouth. Well, today I’d like to share with you that I firmly believe every single word I write on this blog and that I’m putting my money where my mouth is. In fact, I believe in it so much so that it has even helped me to understand that it’s time for me to take a few chances of my own. And so if you were wondering why my blogging suddenly stopped a few weeks ago, you’re about to get your explanation.

The answer is that an opportunity came up that would allow me to transfer to Chicago. After much consideration, my wife and I decided to go for it. Mind you, in some regards, this makes no sense whatsoever. We own a home in Pennsylvania that I bought at nearly the peak of the housing market and will now be looking to sell at what may ultimately be the bottom of the market. (Note to self…buying high and selling low is an investment strategy that fails every time!!) Both my wife’s family and my family live within a few hours of us. And, we have many incredibly good friends that live nearby as well.

So why on earth would I want to take a loss on my home, leave family and friends and travel to a city we’ve never lived in before? The answer is because that’s what we need to do. Let me explain.

While I love flying the line, you can probably tell from my posts that I’m incredibly passionate about management as well. I love fighting for causes I believe in, digging into the details and working every day to make life better for those around me–family, friends or colleagues. Heck, that’s why I got my MBA in the first place! But life happens and I slowly started to feel as though I was doing in many ways the things I write about not doing on this website. I started to feel as though I was settling. My wife wasn’t having tremendous luck in the job search and it just felt as though both of us were starting to simply spin our wheels.

Then one day I was working a flight to Fort Lauderdale. Midway through the trip, I went to use the lavatory and started to have what I can only describe as a completely surreal conversation with one of our flight attendants. He looked at me and said, “You’ve got such amazing positive energy. I just love it.” I thanked him and in the back of my mind thought he must be nutty. I even asked him if he was into palm readings or something. He said no but that he was just an incredibly faithful person. Then he said, “You’re facing a lot of uncertainty now, aren’t you?” I nodded. “You haven’t been married too long either have you?” I nodded again. And after a few more questions really hit home even deeper from this guy I had never met before he said, “Korry, sometimes it’s hard to walk through doors that open in front of you because you don’t always know where they lead and doing so also means you must close other doors in the process. But you have to cast your faith and believe.” At this point he was definitely starting to freak me out a bit.

Over the course of the next few days, several other things happened that were similar to this although not quite so distinct. Maybe it was just coincidence. Maybe I was just ready to hear what I wanted to hear. But in many ways, I believe God was saying to me, “I’ve tried to tell you where you need to go but you don’t seem to want to listen…so I thought I’d try something a little less subtle!” (Now maybe you’re starting to think I’M the nutty one!)

Whatever it was, I came home from the trip with lots of questions running through my head. I sat in bed with Jen and asked if maybe her difficulty on the work front and our general malaise were because we weren’t on the right path. Maybe it was time to change course. Maybe it was time to be a little crazy and to take a giant leap of faith and trust.

After a lot of thought, we decided to throw caution to the wind and do it. We’d leave the safe route behind and instead pursue a less-traveled path. And just then, as if right on cue, the Chicago base was announced. We decided to go for it.

And thus began a few crazy months that have involved remodeling many of the rooms in our house in order to get it ready for sale, all of which culminated yesterday when we officially listed our home for sale. (Thanks to my experience with this blog software, I even designed a website about our home which you can see at www.CountryLaneRanch.com if you’re interested).

So the blogs stopped because between painting and ripping up flooring and laying tile and doing all the things you need to do to get your house ready, there just wasn’t time to write. Hopefully, now that the hard work is done, I should be able to post more regularly.

Where this journey will take us I have no idea. Yes, I have aspirations to enter flight operations or general corporate management within my company, but only if the right opportunity comes along. I’m passionate about making a difference in this crazy business and on improving the lives of everyone the airline touches–employees and customers. I’m not looking to simply continue the status quo.

All I can say definitively is that I’m excited and energized by the decision to move forward. I’m not letting life control me; I’m controlling my life. There are costs and benefits to every decision, especially major ones like this. But I’d rather die poor and penniless knowing I pursued my passion with vigor, that I never gave up on my dreams and that I never settled.

So I’m all in. As George Washington famously told his troops after crossing the Delaware, it’s time to burn the boats. Let the journey begin.

Are you ready to do the same?

Did you enjoy this post? If so, maybe your friends would, too! Try sharing it with them by using one of the buttons below.

Responses

  1. Hi Korry,
    I’m Elizabeth (Roth) Poeppelman’s mom from high school. She has shared numerous stories from your Blog with me. In the line of work I do, your story IS the norm and NO you are not NUTTY! Thank you for your inspiration and for your convictions in helping to make this world a better place!! Hopefully, now that God has gotten your attention, you will begin to pay attention to the Holy Nudges as they come, letting them lead you out in Faith and in Trust, even if the ideas seem crazy! Nothing is Impossible with God….but I think you already know this!!

    Blessings of Abundant Joy in Expected and Unexpected Places!!
    Cheri Roth


Leave a Reply

Categories

